Add & Edit Users

How to add, edit, and deactivate users and how to access user-specific activity logs.

Go to your Settings > Account > User Management to add, remove, or edit users on your ShipStation account. The User Management Settings allow you to update a user's password and set permissions and restrictions for specific users on your account to control what information they can view and what actions they can perform.

User Management Requirements

Each subscription plan includes a set number of users that can have unique logins for the account. Each individual using ShipStation must have their own login, as you cannot log in with the same username in multiple locations simultaneously.

Subscription Level

Number of Users

Startup

3

Accelerate

5

Scale

10

Enterprise

10+

Want to add more users to your account than the maximum number available on your plan level but don’t need to increase your shipment limit? Increase the number of users allowed on your account for $5/user.

These additional users must be added to your subscription before you can add the user in the User Management settings. See the Change Subscription Plan article for more details.

During your trial period, you can add up to 10 users to your account. If you need additional users, please contact our support team.

Add a New User

The user will then receive an email to the email address set in the Information tab. That email contains their username and a temporary password.

Upon login, the user will be prompted to change their temporary password to a permanent password.

ShipStation Login Pop-up

Going forward, users can change their password by using the Forgot Password link on the login screen.

Edit a User

You can change the password, Full Name, Email Address, and Permissions for a user you have already created, but you cannot edit the Username.

Deactivate or Reactivate a User

To deactivate or reactivate a user:

Update Subscription Plan to Remove Additional User Fee

If you have previously exceeded the user count limit of your subscription plan, you should also update your subscription plan to remove the additional user from the plan. If you do not, your subscription will continue to charge the additional user fee.

Deactivate a User 

ShipStation users generate historical reference information, and they create and modify data. Deleting users entirely would also delete this reference information.

To maintain the integrity of the historical information generated in the account, instead of deleting users, you can make them inactive. Inactive users can't log in, nor do they count against your plan's subscription limits.

An inactive user loses all ability to do anything within that ShipStation account. An inactive user has no way to log in, access, or be reactivated within that ShipStation account unless an account's admin user reactivates their username.

View Inactive Users

To see inactive users, check the Show Inactive Users box on the User Management screen. The inactive users will show as Inactive under the Status column.

User Management popup. Red box highlights checked box to Show Inactive Users

Access User Management Settings

User Activity Log

The User Activity Log provides basic activity information about your ShipStation users. Monitor an individual's login dates and times, notifications, retrievals, manual orders, time stamps for the start and finish of Get Label calls, and other high-level activities. This tool can help with troubleshooting or identifying personnel who need new training. 

If multiple employees are logging into ShipStation, each employee needs to log in with their unique username to log activity correctly.

Check the Order Details log for more granular details about information a user created or changed. For example, look in Order Details to see if ShipStation automatically updated an address or if a user on your account made the changes manually. To learn more details, read our Shipment Activity article.

User Activity Stored for 60 Days

ShipStation stores data in the User Activity log for 60 days only.

Access the User Activity Log